H C Singh

Chapter 7 by Agya Ram Sakya

Caste is an ubiquitious institution in India. Despite Hindus, it is found in Muslims, Sikh, Jain, Christians and Jews in some respects too. But in Hindus it is an unique as daily life in a person is regulated by the code of caste. The rights of birth, marriage and death, the customs in the matter of food, dress, and ornaments, the course of polite conversations. Every caste is conscious of its existence and keeps a great loyalty towards in members. To a great degree caste and kinship priorities are higher for them oftenly in place of region, religion or nation. In our country each village, each town or each city has been inhabitated into caste-wise or similar caste colonies. Even a single Dalit house can not be seen in the Savarna colony. Dalit cremation places are also separate here. Thus the each caste is a social unit in itself and customs, rituals, status, occupation and values etc. are different from caste to caste in all Hindus.

However all Hindus are divided into thousands of castes but they are comparatmentalised into two groups i.e. Savarna and Sudra. Savarnas are called high castes and they consists of Brahman, Rajputas and trader castes. They are owner of means of production, rich and educated and have high status in the society. Whereas Sudras are low caste, sometimes they are called “Dalits”. They are poor, uneducated and have no status.

August 24, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: